Latin Baby ~ Disney’s Latin America Films


A little tangent: Rock-a-Doodle

Putting my Disney re-watched quest aside for the moment, I decided to watch Don Bluth films I’ve never seen. I made the horrid mistake of renting Rock-a-Doodle, which is (supposedly) based on Chanticleer the Rooster and was originally intended to be somewhat like Who Framed Roger Rabbit. Unfortunately, they had to tone down that movie’s version of Jessica Rabbit, Goldie Pheasant, to make her less busty. Which brings me to my point. Goldie reminds me a lot of Rosinha because she looks essentially human aside from the beak.

Now as for the movie itself….it could have been so much better. It was good until about halfway through, songs-wise and everything (minus the live-action kid scenes…) These are some of the many things that were wrong with it:

  1. That ridiculous stupid way that he crows.
  2. The stupid kid that can’t pronounce “R’s” and the stupid way he looks as a cat
  3. The stupid owl villain and his stupid underlings’ songs. I wish that he could have played more “Toccata and Fugue” on the organ like at the beginning instead of singing dumb songs.
  4. How they had to draw colored hearts and stars into the owl’s breath “to make him less scary. Maybe if he wasn’t trying to EAT EVERYONE……
  5. The annoying “Chanticleer, Chanticleer” over and over and over chant at the end.
  6. The live-action kid scenes. Why did this need live action and a kid in it again? To make it like Roger Rabbit? Ohhh, sorry. No cookie.
  7. A claustrophobic magpie and a lisping mouse. It could be worse, yes, but it felt annoyingly forced “we’re all weird in our own ways!” without actually going into that at all. The magpie’s claustrophobia just made him look annoying, like he was inconveniencing everyone. As a mildly claustrophobic person myself, I found this offensive. Why even mention the condition in a kid’s movie if you’re not going to explain that the person/animal CAN’T HELP IT and stuff.
  8. Bad child actor, again.
  9. It seems like the cat/boy wails at very random times “I can’t do anything, I’m too little.” Instead of waiting for an opportune time to present this dilemma, it seems like the script just smacks you over the head with it every time cat/boy might maybe have to do something. My personal favorite? Cat/boy, lispy mouse, magpie, and untied-shoes-basset hound are looking at a newspaper clipping that says Goldie is going to be in Chanticleer’s new movie. They look up at the gates of the studio from the newspaper on the ground. Cat/boy: “I’m too little, I can’t get in there.” They didn’t even say anything about going in, dammit! At least throw in a line about “we have to get in!” or something… Oh, and then RIGHT AFTER THAT, he’s in Goldie’s room. Some dilemma.
  10. It’s very awkward and difficult to draw beak-kissing, apparently.
3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thank you so, so very much for posting this. Of course, now, I know that this is a sucky movie, but I saw this when I was really little, and I loved it. But I forgot the name o’ it.
So thank you!

(Even if it is sucky, it is kinda magic. I was, like, 4, so the nostaligia value, too.)

I saw “who framed Roger Rabbit” when I was 9, and I loved it.

(You should see this movie called “Cats Don’t Dance”)

But you are quite right. I took the movie apart using the guide, just to tease a kid in the neighborhood. Bot, was he mad!

I agree with you on these points, though. I’m happy someone else noticed about the “I’m too small” kid.

Comment by Sailor Kitty (from Lemmasoft)

I FIRST WATCHED THIS FILM WHEN I WAS ALMOST 10 AND I REALLY LIKED IT EXPECIALLY THE SCENES ACTED BY THE KID I FOUND THEM VERY BEAUTIFUL THE KID WAS SO CUTE AND IF THE KID WEREN’T THERE THIS FILM WOULDN’T HAVE BEEN THE SAME SOMETIMES I REMEMBER THIS FILM BECOUSE THERE WERE THIS KID. THANK YOU DON BLUTH FOR THIS FILM!!!!!

Comment by FRANCESCA

YOU DON’T HAVE TO SHOUT, and stuff. I pity you for loving this movie. The animation is worth loving, I admit, but the child actor….is not. My sentiments were recently echoed by the Nostalgia Critic, by the way: http://thatguywiththeglasses.com/videolinks/thatguywiththeglasses/nostalgia-critic/5452-rock-a-doodle

Comment by reccaphoenix




Leave a Reply

